₿₿₩₿₿₿₩₿





DOWNPOUR

Written and recorded shortly after members of Aberdeen moved to **Brooklyn**, *Downpour* explores the search for identity. This painful yet rewarding process is mirrored in the cyclical nature of rain and weather. With most song titles stemming from **C.F. MacIntyre's** translations of various **Rainer Maria Rilke** poems, the album traces one's sense of identity: from the conception of an idea, through the pitfalls of the creative process and the benefits of having a community for support along the way, to the ultimate acceptance of this cycle.



"Toward the Sky" begins at the genesis of the rain cycle: with one droplet of water evaporating upwards from its home in a lake or an ocean, risking its security and sense of self in the pursuit of new ideas. From there, we follow the droplet into "Clouds Form," where one joins with many, creating an atmosphere of support and community again in a new home. The title track "Downpour" comes as a cathartic release — an inevitable change and source of pain after a moment of temporary security in the clouds. "Downpour" is the inevitable fall after climbing toward the sky, and the realization of the precariousness of changing yourself and your environment. It's after this realization that we come to "Still", an acceptance of the cycle itself. Along the way, "Upholds All" reminds the listener that even in a freefall, there are people to support you and clouds among you to help dampen the fall and guide your direction. Downpour is about embracing change and the struggles that come with growth, and appreciating that after each storm, there will always be that smell after the rain, when all is still.

Produced by Brian Plautz, Shubh Saran and Dottie Scharr Electronic Production by Brian Plautz Mixed by Pran Bandi Mastered by Charlie Van Kirk Album Photography by Noel Woodford Album Design by Yurou Zeng

01 It Was Here

Written by Brian Plautz Recorded by Vishal Nayak at Black Lodge Recording Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas at Black Lodge Recording Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone Jared Yee Baritone Saxophone Jared Yee Trombone Billy Duffy Electric Guitar Alex Conroy & Shubh Saran Acoustic Guitar Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey Vocal Samples Jenn Mundia

02 Toward the Sky

Written by Brian Plautz & Jared Yee Strings arranged by George Bjorvik & Brian Plautz Recorded by Vishal Nayak at Black Lodge Recording Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas at Black Lodge Recording Horns recorded at John Kilgore Sound & Recording Recording Engineer (Horns) Alex Conroy Assistant Engineer (Horns) Carlos Mora Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone Jared Yee Trombone Seth Weaver Violin Sarah Haines & Audrey Hayes Cello Neal Rosenthal Electric Guitar Alex Conroy & Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey Vocal Samples Dottie Scharr

03 Upholds All (ft. Bob Reynolds)

Written by Brian Plautz Strings arranged by George Bjorvik & Brian Plautz Recorded by Vishal Nayak at Black Lodge Recording Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas at Black Lodge Recording Horns recorded at John Kilgore Sound & Recording Recording Engineer (Horns) Alex Conroy Assistant Engineer (Horns) Carlos Mora Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone Jared Yee Tenor Saxophone (Solo) Bob Reynolds Trombone Seth Weaver Violin Sarah Haines & Audrey Hayes Cello Neal Rosenthal Electric Guitar Alex Conroy Electric Guitar Alex Conroy Electric and Acoustic Guitars Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey Vocal Samples Dottie Scharr

04 Unspoken

Written by Alex Conroy & Brian Plautz Recorded by Vishal Nayak at Black Lodge Recording Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas at Black Lodge Recording Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone Jared Yee Baritone Saxophone Jared Yee Trombone Billy Duffy Electric Guitar Alex Conroy & Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey

05 Downpour

Written by Brian Plautz
Strings arranged by George Bjorvik & Brian Plautz
Recorded by Vishal Nayak
at Black Lodge Recording
Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas
at Black Lodge Recording
Horns recorded at John Kilgore Sound & Recording
Recording Engineer (Horns) Alex Conroy
Assistant Engineer (Horns) Carlos Mora

Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Flute Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone Jared Yee Baritone Saxophone Jared Yee Trombone Seth Weaver Violin Sarah Haines & Audrey Hayes Cello Neal Rosenthal Synthesizers Brian Plautz & Shubh Saran Electric Guitar Alex Conroy & Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey Rainstick Avanti Dabholkar

06 BKNY

Written by Alex Conroy & Brian Plautz Recorded by Vishal Nayak at Black Lodge Recording Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas at Black Lodge Recording Horns recorded at John Kilgore Sound & Recording Recording Engineer (Horns) Alex Conroy Assistant Engineer (Horns) Carlos Mora Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone (Solo) Jared Yee Baritone Saxophone Jared Yee Trombone Seth Weaver Violin Sarah Haines & Audrey Hayes Cello Neal Rosenthal Synthesizers Brian Plautz & Shubh Saran Electric Guitar Alex Conroy & Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey

07 Clouds Form

Written by Brian Plautz & Shubh Saran Electronic Production by Brian Plautz & Shubh Saran Recorded by Vishal Nayak at Black Lodge Recording Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas at Black Lodge Recording Horns recorded at John Kilgore Sound & Recording Recording Engineer (Horns) Alex Conroy Assistant Engineer (Horns) Carlos Mora Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone Jared Yee Baritone Saxophone Jared Yee Trombone Seth Weaver French Horn Sara McDonald Violin Sarah Haines & Audrey Hayes Cello Neal Rosenthal Electric Guitar Alex Conroy & Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey Vocal Samples Dottie Scharr

08 Reprise

Written by Brian Plautz Recorded by Vishal Nayak at Black Lodge Recording Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas at Black Lodge Recording Horns recorded at John Kilgore Sound & Recording Recording Engineer (Horns) Alex Conroy Assistant Engineer (Horns) Carlos Mora

09 Still

Written by Alex Conroy & Brian Plautz Recorded by Vishal Nayak at Black Lodge Recording Percussion recorded by Michael Thomas at Black Lodge Recording Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone Jared Yee Baritone Saxophone Jared Yee Trombone Seth Weaver Violin Sarah Haines & Audrey Hayes Cello Neal Rosenthal Electric Guitar Alex Conroy & Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey

Trumpet Matt Owens Alto Saxophone Brian Plautz Tenor Saxophone Jared Yee Baritone Saxophone Jared Yee Trombone Billy Duffy Electric Guitar Alex Conroy & Shubh Saran Electric Bass Adam Neely Drum Set Ian Barnett Percussion Josh Bailey Vocal Samples Dottie Scharr

Thank you to Dalton Harts, Mark Schwartz, Liz Plautz, Greg Plautz, VJ Brown, Cbass Chiriboga, Kai Sandoval, Ben Seacrist, Ryan Linvill, Josh Plotner, Will Brown, Alex Silver, Ben Feit, John Kilgore, Liz Maney, Evan Tyor, Drew Krasner, Luke McGinnis and Layla.

